What happens if I archive a member?
If you archive a profile, there are several things to consider:
- An archived profile cannot be found via the Quick Search feature. You must go to: People >> Search in order to retrieve the profile, then select either “View” or “Edit”.
- You cannot communicate with an archived member. The option to search for profiles with an archived status does not exist when sending email or text.
- Archiving a profile will retain contact information and Custom Fields.
- A member whose profile has been archived can still log on however, they can no longer view/edit their Custom Fields, or contact an administrator with the organization(s) in which they are archived. The welcome message is not displayed to them, either.
What happens if I remove a member?
If you remove a profile, there are several things to consider:
- You cannot communicate with or edit a profile that has been removed from your organization.
- You can send the person a sign-up link (Configuration >> Recruitment >> Links for Website) so that they can re-register as a member with your organization using their original username and password.
- Removing a profile will remove information for that person’s Custom Fields and Committee memberships for your organization.
- A member whose profile has been removed can still log into Better Impact, however, they will no longer be able to see or interact with any organization specific information, for the accounts they have been removed from.
What does Inactive mean and how is it different than Archived?
Member statuses can basically mean anything you need them to mean. An “Applicant” is typically someone who has just filled in your application form, while someone who is “In Process” may be undergoing your approvals process. If you change the status of someone to “Inactive”, it may mean that they will be unavailable (vacation, leave, etc.). A member who has been archived is no longer a part of your organization.
How do I generate a list of members?
There are a variety of tools available, depending on the type of list you are looking to generate, including Phone Lists and Mailing Labels.
- For reports you can view on your screen, you can go to People >> Search to enter your search criteria. In the “Search Results”, you will be able to:
- View a profile
- Edit a profile
- Send an email to a member
- The Customizable Raw Data Reports will enable lists to be produced for Note Logs, and the Personal Profile report can develop a list of member profile information you may need. These reports can easily be exported to Excel.
Under what circumstances can/can’t I edit an Administrator’s profile?
When you edit a profile, the software will compare a list of what organization(s) you (i.e. the profile you have logged in with) are a FULL administrator of and what organization(s) the profile you are trying to edit is an administrator (any kind of administrator) of. If your Full administrative list covers ALL of the organizations in which they are an administrator, you can edit the profile.
Profile 1 – For the current user (i.e. the administrative profile you are logged on with), the account permissions are comprised of:
- List of all the enterprises in which I am a FULL admin
- List of all the organizations in which I am a FULL admin
Profile 2 – For the profile you want to edit, the account permissions are comprised of:
- List of all the enterprises in which the user is ANY kind of admin
- List of all the organizations in which the user is ANY kind of admin
If the administrator (“Profile 2”) has anything in their list (organization or enterprise) that the current user (“Profile 1”) does not, the Profile 1 user is not allowed to edit the Profile 2 administrator’s contact information. This includes resetting log in information, as this would potentially give administrative access to an account that the Profile 1 user did not previously have.
Should I use the Document Library or the File Manager?
This is a central location where administrators can add files that could be used by administrators and/or members.
If a document is available to members, they will see a “Files” section on their Home page in MyImpactPage.com. Files are not accessible to members without a username that is associated with your organization.
In an enterprise environment, files in the Document Library at the enterprise level are available to the associated member organizations.
The main use for the File Manager is to insert an image into the field (example: a logo at the bottom of an email) or a link to a file. Items uploaded to the File Manager will only be visible to members if they can see the applicable field. (e.g. email)
Files in the File Manager can be included as links in any Rich Text Box where the File Manager is available (e.g. descriptions for custom fields, within the body of an email, a welcome message. Etc.).
In an enterprise environment, files in the File Manager will only be accessible to administrators at the level at which they were added (i.e. at the Enterprise level only or within one specific organization).
How do I know when a Profile was updated?
Better Impact automatically tracks the exact date that a profile was created (ProfileCreated). It also tracks the exact date that a change was made to a profile (ProfileUpdated). This information can be reported on in the Personal Profile Export.
The value for “ProfileUpdated” will change any time that the member or any administrator with access to the profile (i.e. if the member belongs to multiple organizations) makes a change to the profile.
The following actions will trigger that date to be updated:
- A change to their profile information (name, contact information, preferences, etc.)
- Adding / changing / removing a Custom Field value
- Adding a member to or removing a member from an organization